Thai Massage Intro -30 Thai Massage Theory Consists Primarily of

Landscape mode makes images easier to read on mobile devices.

Thai Massage Theory Consists Primarily of:

killing, stealing, lying, misuse, intoxication

The Five precepts or five rules of training is the most important system of morality for Buddhist people. They constitute the basic code of ethics to be respected by followers of Buddhism.


The brahmavihārās are a series of four Buddhist virtues and the meditation practices made to cultivate them.

According to the Metta Sutta, cultivation of the four immeasurables has the power to cause the practitioner to be reborn into a “Brahma realm” 

Mettā, (Loving Kindness)     Karuna, (Compassion), Mudita, (Sympathetic Joy) Upekkha, (Equanimity)

Although traditional medicine systems around the world have element theory in common, you will find it less confusing to bracket what you may already have learned about this concept while studying the elements in Thai medicine. With that being said, ancient civilizations in Asia, the Americas, Europe, and elsewhere are based on the idea that all things are made of earth, water, fire, and wind, with space being the void that holds them. Each culture has a unique way of assessing and addressing these elements, but when we look beyond the structure of each system, the basic concept is the only aspect that is the same: 

Elements are the component parts of all things. 

There are five main aspects of personal health: physical, emotional, energetic, mental, and spiritual. In order to be considered “well,” it is imperative for none of these areas to be neglected.

Lower torso (earth/water)

Upper torso (water/fire)

Head (wind/space)

Subtle Winds include the movement of thoughts, emotions, ideas, impulses, urges, memories, habits, sense of self, and dreams. Gross Winds include all physical body movements, such as circulation, respiration, nervous impulses, peristalsis, running, writing, talking, lactation, urination, and osmosis.

The life force “spirit” of the 32 body parts together form the one khwan.

The idea of meditating on the Thirty-two Parts of the Body is to increase our potential for healing, build concentration, and allow one to experience deep freedom and peace. 

The thirty-two parts of the body are:

Head hair, Body hair, Nails, Teeth, Skin

Flesh, Sinews, Bones, Bone Marrow, Kidneys

Heart, Liver, Diaphragm, Spleen, Lungs

Large Intestine, Small Intestine, Stomach, Feces, Brain

Bile, Phlegm, Pus, Blood, Sweat, Fat

Tears, Grease, Saliva, Mucus, Oil of the Joints, Urine

physical pathways of movement in the body, and the places they are accessed

places on the body where specific pressures cause neuromuscular release

  Release point theory can be broken up into two categories.

     places on the body where deeper energetic forces are subtly influenced

  points on the body where the pulse is felt, generally at the joints

Thoughtful breathing supports and enhances the goals of massage therapy regardless of the modality.

From superficial to deep, the layers of the body are

skin, tissue, sên, bone, and organs.

The most effective method is to work through them in order, and it is important not to skip over one and try to treat the next.